The "Hygiene Prize 2024" awarded by the Rudolf Schülke Stiftung

03. Apr 2024

The Rudolf Schülke Foundation Award Ceremony 2024 took place on March 15, 2024 in Hamburg. The Hygiene Prize and the Hygieia Medal were awarded by the Chairman of the Foundation's Executive Board, Professor Dr. Martin Exner.

Hygiene Prize Award Ceremony 2024

The Hygiene Prize was split in 2024: To the working group led by PD Dr. rer. nat. Tilman E. Klassert from the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research and the working group from Charité Berlin led by PD Dr. med. Rasmus Leistner. They received the prize for the studies: Development of a hospital microbiome and environmental cleaning to prevent hospital infections.

The Hygiene Prize of the Rudolf Schülke Foundation honors individuals whose work has made a decisive contribution to developments in infection prevention and public health. The Board of Directors and Advisory Board of the Rudolf Schülke Foundation recognize the achievements of medical professionals with the prize, which is endowed with 15,000 euros.

Award Ceremony Hygiene Prize 2024
f.l.t.r Cristina Zubiria-Barrera (Hygiene Award winner), Nicole Steinhorst (Advisory Board), Rasmus Leistner (Hygiene Award winner), Tilman E. Klassert (Hygiene Award winner), Martin Exner (Chairman of the Executive Board), Elke Lemke (Hygiene Award winner), Lars Lemke (Executive Board), Alex W. Friedrich (Advisory Board), Rainer Wolber (Management Board), Iris F. Chaberny (Advisory Board), Peter Oltmanns (Advisory Board), Philippe Hartemann (Advisory Board), Frank A. Pitten (Deputy Chairman of the Management Board).

Study of the research group PD Dr. rer. nat. Tilman E. Klassert:

Dynamics of bacterial colonization and dissemination of antibiotic resistance genes in the hospital environment after initial patient occupancy: a longitudinal metagenetic study.

Award of the Hygiene Prize 2024
f.l.t.r. Dr. Cristina Zubiria-Barrera, Prof. Martin Exner (Chairman of the Management Board), PD. Dr. Tilman E. Klassert

Study by the PD Dr. med. Rasmus Leistner research group:

Environmental cleaning to prevent hospital-acquired infections in non-intensive care units: a single-center randomized controlled crossover study comparing soap-based, disinfectant-based and probiotic-based cleaning.

Award Hygiene Prize 2024
f.l.t.r. Prof. Martin Exner (Chairman of the Management Board), Elke Lemke, PD. Dr. Rasmus Leistner

Award of the "Hygieia Medal 2024"

Hygieia Medal 2024
Prof. Martin Exner (Chairman of the Management Board) and Dr. Bärbel Christiansen (prize winner)

Dr. Bärbel Christiansen from Kiel was also awarded the Hygieia Medal at this year's ceremony. This medal is awarded every two years to people who have dedicated their life's work to hygiene and microbiology. In his laudatory speech, Prof. Dr. med. Martin Exner, Chairman of the Rudolf Schülke Foundation, made special mention of her role as Chairwoman of the Commission for Hospital Hygiene and Infection Prevention (KRINKO). Dr. Bärbel Christiansen had been particularly successful in motivating the members in the preparation of highly complex recommendations. Her leadership of the KRINKO was "a true masterstroke".